Week 5 – Art Experience – Cuisine

Like most people probably did, I made sushi. I’ve made sushi in the past and make poke bowls for myself and family on a regular basis, so the concepts in this weren’t entirely new to me. What I tried differently was to fry my sushi in tempura. I’ve never made tempura before but some of my favorite rolls at sushi restaurants are fried like this so I thought I would give it a shot.

If you have made sushi before, you know it’s a lot of work. A lot goes into buying and preparing the ingredients before you even start cutting the fish. Luckily we had most of the ingredients already and a rice cooker to speed things up.

The first thing I did was make the tempura batter. This was pretty easy; cold water, flour, egg, potato starch and some baking soda. I let it chill in the fridge until I was ready to use it.

I then cut my veggies, made some spicy mayo and prepared the crab mix.

Now I was ready to cut the fish. I don’t have the sharpest knife but it ended up working out just fine. Normally I cube the fish when making poke bowls, but this time I cut with the veins and made long strips to put inside the roll.

After the fish was cut, I placed the it inside the roll with cucumber, avocado, crab mix and some spicy mayo, rolled it up with the rice and seaweed and cut it into several pieces.

IMG_4390

Next, I took the tempura batter out to start frying them.

I wasn’t really sure what I was doing so I just loaded the pieces up in the batter and fried them until they turned brown.

IMG_4420

I plated three rolls that turned out alright and added some Sriracha. I think I might have used a little to much batter but they still tasted pretty good. I probably wouldn’t do it again because of the amount of work that went into it but it was still fun to try. I ended up with some fish left over so I made a poke bowl with the extra.

IMG_4421

 

Leave a Reply

